property damage

What is the Bad Faith Law in Louisiana?

When an insurance company fails to fulfill its obligations to the policyholder in a fair and reasonable manner, it may mean it is acting in bad faith. Louisiana Revised Statute § 22:1973 governs the practices insurance companies must follow regarding their good faith obligations. Specifically, insurance providers have a duty of good faith to adjust and pay claims

What is the Bad Faith Law in Louisiana? Read More »

How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Settle a Hurricane Claim in Florida?

In Florida, insurance companies are required to settle hurricane claims promptly and fairly. They must respond to your claim within 14 days, and, to avoid a bad faith demand, they should make a claim determination within 90 days. Here are some other things to be aware of if you’ve experienced hurricane damage to your property.  If you

How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Settle a Hurricane Claim in Florida? Read More »

What is the Statute of Limitations on Property Insurance Claims in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, the statute of limitations on property damage claims, including those related to homeowners insurance, is typically one year from the date of the incident or discovery of the damage. This statute of limitations is outlined in Louisiana Civil Code Article 3492. Below we’ll discuss what the statute of limitations on property claims in Louisiana means

What is the Statute of Limitations on Property Insurance Claims in Louisiana? Read More »

How Long Does a Homeowner’s Insurance Company Have to Settle a Claim in Louisiana?

When homeowners experience damage to their property, they need relief fast. The work of building back up after your roof has been damaged or a hurricane wreaks havoc takes time and costs money. That is why you have property insurance – to help restore your home or business to its original condition.  The law in Louisiana recognizes

How Long Does a Homeowner’s Insurance Company Have to Settle a Claim in Louisiana? Read More »